locked WSJT-X on Raspeberry Pi: Rig Control Woes

dpsm64@...

Hi, I'm fairly new to WSJT-X, but I have gotten it up and running on my Ubuntu desktop with my IC-7200. I built a Raspberry Pi to use specifically for digital modes using KM4ACK's Build-a-Pi v3. I've tried about everything I can think of to get WSJT-X talking to my rig over USB, but no dice. I'm using /dev/ttyUSB0, same serial settings that worked when I ran WSJT-X on my Ubuntu machine, but all I get is a dialog saying "Rig Failure Hamlib error: IO error when opening connection to rig."

I double checked group membership - /dev/ttyUSB0 is in the dialout group, as is the user I'm logged in as (pi). When I use rigctl from the command line to test hamlib, this is what I get:

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ rigctl -r /dev/ttyUSB0 -m 361
rig_open: error = IO error

Curiously, when I sudo that same command, rigctl prompts me for a rig command. But if I type "f", for instance, I just get "get_freq: error = Communication bus error". I've tried rigctl both ways with verbose logging, too, and it appears rigctl is sending and receiving something, but it's not liking what it's seeing. Here's the log when I start rigctl with sudo:

Rig command: f
rig_get_freq called
icom_get_freq called
serial_flush called
write_block called
write_block(): TX 6 bytes
0000    fe fe 76 e0 03 fd                                   ..v...          
read_string called
read_string(): RX 5 characters
0000    fe fe 76 e0 03                                      ..v..           
read_string called
read_string(): Timed out 1.1058 seconds after 0 chars
serial_flush called
write_block called
read_string called
0000    fe                                                  .               
read_string(): read() failed - Resource temporarily unavailable
serial_flush called
write_block called
read_string called
read_string(): Timed out 1.1038 seconds after 0 chars
serial_flush called
write_block called
read_string called
get_freq: error = IO error