locked Old Logs

Michael WA7SKG

I've been using WSJT-X on the same computer since 2017. I have always logged the contacts, but never really paid attention to the logs until now. I went into the log directory and see the logs there only go back to January 2019. I'm looking for contacts made in 2017 and 2018. Do these logs rotate somehow? Is there any way to find the logs from previous years? I have searched for other log and adi files and came up empty.

tnx es 73,
Michael WA7SKG

Larry Knain

My wsjtx_log.adi has all QSOs back to 2016. I just did a reconciliation about a week ago between the wsjtx log and my main log with no discrepancies (just over 15000 QSOs). I actually log via JTAlert to DXLab. Perhaps you reset something during program updates? Someone had a scheme for deleting wav files and if you did that perhaps it got some of the log data as well?

73, Larry W6NWS

On 1/18/2020 10:43 AM, Michael WA7SKG wrote:
I've been using WSJT-X on the same computer since 2017. I have always logged the contacts, but never really paid attention to the logs until now. I went into the log directory and see the logs there only go back to January 2019. I'm looking for contacts made in 2017 and 2018. Do these logs rotate somehow? Is there any way to find the logs from previous years? I have searched for other log and adi files and came up empty.

tnx es 73,
Michael WA7SKG

Gilbert Baron

A good reason to have one main log and log to that in real time. IMHO DXKeeper is the one that should be but there are others. Logging in real time to the main log and having a backup strategy is the way to avoid your problem. You may have no recovery at this point but I will let someone with more knowledge of the app to answer that.

Outlook Laptop Gil W0MN

Hierro candente, batir de repente

44.08226N 92.51265W EN34rb

From: WSJTX@groups.io <WSJTX@groups.io> On Behalf Of Larry Knain
Sent: Saturday, January 18, 2020 12:46
To: WSJTX@groups.io
Subject: Re: [WSJTX] Old Logs