locked Re: Bill Somerville, G4WJS, SK #general

Paul

A Tribute to my dearest friend Bill Somerville G4WJS.

I apologize for length of this post. This might answer a few previous posts .Knowing Bill he will be still reading all these posts from a better place.

I thank you for your speedy post Joe.

Bill G4WJS was one of my dearest friends living just 4 miles apart.We spoke 2/3 times a week and at times several times a day.
After a 20 year plus break Bill spurred me on to come back into the radio family.I OWE HIM A LOT.Thanks to him my major interest in the last 10 years has been WSJT-X. Bill also had a passion for Photography and me being a Photographer for The Sun Newspaper In London before I retired had another common interest we liked to have a good natter but I often came off the worst.Bill lived on his own so we kept a close eye on each other.
Bill had a degree in Chemistry but as I understand was self taught in computing and electronics.Please see his QRZ page.
He was a whizz.He was a great natural teacher and Joe I think this was one of the reasons he got on so well with you and the group.He remarked to me many times "I never mind helping anyone provided they help themselves" At times glaring at me  muttering under his breath "Read the notes and the posts" Sometimes it so annoyed him when I could not keep a straight face..we all know the story.Bill always willing to help with a computer grafted to his hand.